Total Pageviews


Search This Blog

Sunday, May 9, 2010

News from 2010 USAR National Collegiate Championships held in Springfield, MO


Jackson and Rojas Win #1 Gold Intercollegiate Titles

The 2010 USA Racquetball 38th National Intercollegiate Racquetball Championships presented by ProPenn and sponsored by Ektelon and Wilson were held on April 7-10 at Missouri State University in Springfield. Hundreds of collegiate athletes representing fifty colleges and universities competed for team and individual titles. Sharon Jackson from the University of Alabama (Birmingham, AL) and Jose Rojas from Delta College (Stockton, CA) captured the #1 Gold titles, wins that also earned them highly-coveted appointments to the US Team. Jackson and Rojas are also former members of the US Junior Team.
Michelle Key (Arizona State University), who was noticeably absent from the 2009 Intercollegiate event, defeated number one seed Sheryl Lotts in a surprising semi-final upset (15-3, 9-15, 11-10). Key couldn’t get past Sharon Jackson in the finals and lost (15-10, 15- 8).
Taylor Knoth from the University
of Oregon emerged victorious in his semi-final match against Alan Crockett from the University of Alabama (15-9, 15-9). Jose Rojas secured the title with a 15-
9, 15-12 win over Knoth in the finals.
The University of Oregon team repeated their 2008 and 2009 performances with their win of the Overall Team Title.
The Women’s Team from the University of Oregon won the title for the second consecutive year. Colorado State University - Pueblo, whose five-year streak was broken last year by Delta College, recaptured the Men’s Team title.

No comments:

Post a Comment