Total Pageviews


Search This Blog

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Beavers racquetball team wins 4th straight title

Oregon State’s dominance at the national racquetball championships continued last week as the Beavers won their fourth straight title.

The tournament took place April 5-9 at Arizona State.

The men’s team finished third behind Colorado State-Pueblo and Alabama, with the women placing fourth.

The champion is determined by combining the two team scores. Alabama was second.

Taylor Knoth, who is the world champion, won the men’s title defeating Nick Montalbano of Colorado State-Pueblo 15-2, 15-10 at No. 1 singles.

OSU’s Frossene King (No. 1), Alyssa Asay (No. 3), Teresa Wright (No. 4), Kelly Powell (No. 5) and Stevanie Medearis (No. 6) won singles titles.

King is a 50-year-old graduate student.

The doubles teams of Asay and Wright (No. 2) and Powell and Chelsea Donnithorne (No. 3) also won titles.

Seniors Michael Carrington and Alyssa Asay won their sixth straight team national championships, including two in high school.


Men’s singles

First place

No. 1: Taylor Knoth, OSU, def. Nick Montalbano, Colorado State-Pueblo, 15-2, 15-10

Third place

No. 4: Michael Carrington, OSU, def. Phil Woodland, Columbus State, 15-13, 4-15, 11-7

No. 5: Jonathan Edwards, OSU, def. Brendan Glijum, Missouri, 15-11, 15-13.

No. 6: Dale Fonken, OSU, def. Richard Howell, BYU, 15-11, 15-14.

Fourth place

No. 2: Joseph Blank, BYU, def. Micah Hoffman, OSU, 15-11, 15-4


No. 3: Carlos Barrios, Texas A&M, def. Joey Pryor, OSU, 15-8, 8-15, 11-7.

Men’s doubles

Third place

No. 1: Taylor Knoth/Joey Pryor, OSU, def. Jeff Skanchy/Joe Blank, BYU, 15-5, 15-9.

No. 2: Micah Hoffman/Michael Carrington, OSU, def. Galen Reding/Justin Levine, Baldwin-Wallace, 8-15, 15-11, 11-8.

Round of 16

No. 3: Eric Howell/Matt Mitchell, Texas Tech, def. Jonathan Edwards/Dale Fonken, OSU, 15-13, 15-14.

Women’s singles

First place

No. 1: Frossene King, OSU, def. Sylvia Moy, Florida, 15-10, 12-15, 11-8.

No. 3: Alyssa Asay, OSU, def. Chelsea Cardon, Utah Valley State, 15-4, 15-6.

No. 4: Teresa Wright, OSU, def. Erin Winters, Missouri, 15-3, 15-1.

No. 5: Kelly Powell, OSU, def. Amy Morby, Utah Valley State, 15-5, 15-14.

No. 6: Stevanie Medearis, OSU, def. Mary Culverwell, BYU, 15-8, 15-6.

Second place

No. 2: Hailey Miller, Oregon, def. Megan Mathes, OSU, 15-13, 8-15, 9-11.

Women’s doubles

First place

No. 2: Alyssa Asay/Teresa Wright, OSU, def. Erin Winters/Rachel Schmidt, Missouri, 15-8, 15-2.

No. 3: Kelly Powell/Chelsea Donnithorne, OSU, def. Alyssa Shaeffer/Andrea Carter, BYU, 15-5, 15-6.

Consolation finals

No. 1: Frossene King/Megan Mathes, OSU, def. Christina Beatty/Sylvia Moy, Florida, 15-1, 15-9.

No comments:

Post a Comment